Monday, July 13, 2015

Book Review - Chasing the Dragon

Chasing the Dragon ( Deception Duet #2)

He’s trying to protect his heart… 
She’s a shell of the girl she once was…
Can he chase away the demons threatening to destroy her?

Mackenzie Delano craves control. After tragedy strikes during her freshman year of college, she compensates for the helplessness she felt by micro-managing every aspect of her life, from her business life to her social life…to her love life. But she wasn’t expecting to cross paths with a mysterious man who seems to invade her every thought.

Tyler Burnham has been living his life with one rule in mind…never fall in love. Focusing solely on his career, he is able to remain a detached observer of life… Until a case is dropped in his lap, forcing him to form an intimate relationship with a sharp-tongued woman in order to obtain the location of a man deemed an enemy of the State.

When Tyler finds himself falling for Mackenzie, will he be able push his feelings aside and recover the information he needs? Or will he put the mission and their lives at risk to follow his heart?

Chasing The Dragon is the first installment of a two part series of deception and betrayal where nothing is as it seems. 

***Note - Chasing The Dragon is the first book in a two-book duet and is a spin-off of T.K. Leigh's USA Today Best Selling Beautiful Mess series. It is not necessary to have read that series in order to read this duet, but it will contain a mild spoiler from the third book in the Beautiful Mess series, Gorgeous Chaos.

Favorite Quotes:

My Review:

T.K. Leigh has done it again with Chasing the Dragon, This time it's Alexander Burnham's brother Tyler Burnham, that has set himself up to be the heart breaker and have his heart and world torn upside down.
In Chasing the Dragon Tyler has a assignment with his family's security company to get information from Mackenzie Delano. Mackenzie, is a beautiful woman who has control of every aspect in her life., until she meets Tyler. She has a past that just seems to be her down fall with her relationships.
Tyler never intended to fall in love but was swept away by Mackenzie, every decision he makes torments him to proceed with the assignment. This book is filled will a little bit of suspense, passion, laughter, love and every page that has Tyler and Mackenzie together has you SWOONING for more. The Intensity that they have emotional and sexual takes you on a roller coaster of a ride.

There is something about T.K. Leigh's writing that captures you from the beginning and makes it impossible to want to put her books down. It's like a mental movie just being played in your head. The characters are so strong and it makes it's hard not to fall in love with them. I love that she leaves you with a playlist that you want to download during or after reading the book.

I felt giddy anytime Alexander was mentioned in this book, even though he came off a little pompous. I loved just the mention of Alex and Olivia from A Beautiful Mess series. I doubt that it would ever be too much for me to read about the Burnham men. The hardest part about finishing a book is the waiting. I will have to get my fix from other books before I can read the continuation of Tyler and Mackenzie in.... Slaying the Dragon.


About The Author:
T.K. Leigh, otherwise known as Tracy Leigh Kellam, is the USA Today Best Selling author of the Beautiful Mess series. Originally from New England, she now resides in sunny Southern California with her husband, dog and three cats, all of which she has rescued (including the husband). When she’s not planted in front of her computer, writing away, she can be found running and training for her next marathon (of which she has run over fifteen fulls and far too many halfs to recall). Unlike Olivia, the main character in her Beautiful Mess series, she has yet to qualify for the Boston Marathon.
T.K. Leigh is represented by Jane Dystel of Dystel & Goderich Literary Management. All publishing inquiries, including audio, foreign, and film rights, should be directed to her.


Google page:

No comments:

Post a Comment

Release Blitz for Surrender by Amy Daws

Title: Surrender The Final Harris Brother Duet #1 Series: The Harris Brothers #4 Author: Amy Daws Genre: Sports Romance Re...